CM Naveen Patnaik Dedicates 24-Hour ‘Drink From Tap’ Facility In 19 Odisha Cities

Bhubaneswar: Prime Minister Naveen Patnaik on Wednesday launched a 24-hour ‘Drink From Tap’ project in 19 cities and towns across the state, benefiting more than 5.5 million people.

The prime minister, who has effectively launched the project under the 5T initiative from Lok Seva Bhawan’s convention hall in Bhubaneswar, said providing safe drinking water for every family has long been his dream and a priority of the government. said.

Cities that have acquired water supply facilities are Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Nimapada, Barhanpur, Gopalpur, Lokela, Sundagar, Biramitrapur, Rajganpur, Keonjar, Jodha, Bhadvir, Champua, Anandpur, Balipada, Rayrampur, Udala, Karangia and Biasnagar. . About 5.55 million people in these cities will benefit.

Note here that Puri previously acquired the Drink From Tap feature. His second city in the state, Gopalpur, also has a system where 100% of people drink from the tap.

The Prime Minister also announced the ‘Drink From Tap’ programme, which will benefit approximately 1.5 million people in the three cities of Kurda, Jatni and Hinglikat.

Explaining that water is precious to everyone, Naveen appealed not to waste a single drop of water and said that everyone should use water properly.

The Prime Minister said that clean water is very important for public health and convenience of daily life and that the facility will greatly improve the living standards of the 5T Initiative people.

Usha Devi, Minister of Housing and Urban Development, said providing clean drinking water is an important program of the state government.

OMBADC’s watchdog, Judge A Patnaik, said he frequently visits mining areas to find people facing problems getting water. Today, these regions have achieved remarkable achievements in the area of ​​drinking water, he said.

Mr. G Mathivathanan, Chief Secretary of the Department of Housing and Urban Development delivered a welcoming speech. In particular, Minister Ashok Panda, Secretary Suresh Chandra Mohapatra, Secretary CM (5-T) VK Pandian and Mayor of Bhubaneswar Sulochana Das were present.

Source link

Leave a Reply